Our Favorite Things: August Edition

It’s that time again!  We combined forces to give y’all a list of what we’re loving right now.  And this time, we’re not messing around.  These are the objects-du-jour without which we would be total train wrecks!  Shockingly, there’s food on this list.  #livetoeat #lovetoshop #notapologizing

Kath’s:

1)  My hands are greasy as I type, so I suppose I have no choice but to begin with the Lexington Co-op Spicy Tofu Steaks.  My love for these babies runs deep.   They curb any vegan or omnivore’s craving for protein, fat (good fat) and salt.  The Co-Op sells them in the prepared food section so you literally do nothing except buy them, open the container and chow (not necessarily in that order).  They are great for a post-practice treat or chopped into a salad (if they make it home).  Not going to lie, they actually make a wonderful breakfast as well.   Kate’s boyfriend, a former cook at the Co-Op, always asks us why we don’t make them ourselves.   The answer, really, is that they taste SO MUCH better because they are already prepared and the only mess they make is the grease you get all over your fingers when you eat them in the car or while you do your work on the computer!   If you live out of town, you are shit of luck!  I’m joking, you simply chop the tofu into triangular “steaks’ marinate them in oil and Frank’s hot sauce and roast them until they are crispy.

tofooo

Not sure how well these bad boys photo, but seriously, take my word for it.

2)  Modern Nostalgia, my favorite local boutique, just dropped a new line called good hYOUman.  Seriously, in just reading the name don’t you love this brand already?   I picked up  The Linda long-sleeved white tee while I was birthday shopping for my husband in the adjacent store Blue Collar.  The tee reads “Everyone has a story” in small and simple capital letters and knit from fabulous soft cotton.  The price point is pretty reasonable too, the shirt cost $42.00.   Brett Novak’s brand has a story, as do all of the hang tags.  Each season they feature an inspirational story submitted by fans of the brand.  I absolutely love clothes especially when they have a message!  “Everyone has a story” resonates on so many levels!  Right now I particularly love this quotation because it reminds me to be empathetic and compassionate to everyone as often as possible for we are all currently living our story in the present.

*Side note:  unless you have napkins and great laundry detergent, do not eat tofu steaks while wearing your good hYOUman tee!

lindatee

3) Robbie Simon Jewelry made my list of favorite things yet again!   After seeing a few amazing yogi-instagram-superstars rocking this piece, I had to purchase one for myself (I swear I’m not a follower).   The Thunderbolt Diamond Pearl Bracelet, although bearing an epically-bold name,  is the sweetest tiny pearl bracelet.   While small in size, this bracelet must be named for it’s strong personality and character.  Functionally, it  layers well with other pieces or holds its own.  Robbie Simon pieces are all about the details… notice the pearls around the clasps.    I absolutely love this little piece and haven’t taken it off since it arrived last week.   Big love comes in tiny packages from Brooklyn and thanks to Robbie Simon for more perfection!

robbiesimon

 

 

Kate’s:

1) Stephanie Snyder’s “Give Too Much?  Find Your Center and Feel Supported” class on Yogaglo.  Whenever I feel scattered and like there are pieces of me flying around all over the place (like right now…or basically any day of my life, ever) and I can’t pull them back together, this is my class. It’s lunge-y, earthy and completely un-spastic.  It grounds me, evens out my energy and fills me up in a way that nothing else can.  This chick can work some serious magic.  It’s on my bucket list to meet her in person one day.  #sanfranciscoroadtrip  Check her out here if you ever need a little grounding, earth mama inspiration 🙂

2) Press Juice Bar’s banana bites.  AMAZING little balls that give a burst of energy and are great pre or post practice for a quick boost.  Watch out though – going into Press usually means buying at least one (but probably more) bottles of their gorgeously colorful, fabulously delicious juice too.  Consider yourself warned 🙂
These bad boys are a great dessert-like compliment to Kath's tofu steaks above.  Yum :)

These bad boys are a great dessert-like compliment to Kath’s tofu steaks above. Yum 🙂

3) This brush!!!  I struggle using organic conditioner in my hair and feel like no matter what I do, combing it out is a nightmare.  But when I was away last weekend, my girlfriend (who has the most gorgeous, voluminous long brown hair you have EVER seen) let me borrow her Wet Brush.  I was skeptical because really, a brush?  Don’t all the things you read about what to do with your hair say you’re supposed to use a wide toothed comb?  Well.  Combs are for the birds after this brush.  It went through my hair like butter and didn’t get stuck on one tangle (and when you wash your hair as infrequently as I do, there are a LOT of tangles).  Seriously, it might be a miracle product.  #illnevergobacktocombs
Adios, crappy hair!

Adios, crappy hair!

Say Something :)